23rd Annual Krem New Years Day Cycling Classic Tuesday, January 1st, 2013

Krem Cycling Classic


The 23rd KREM New Years Day Cycling Classic is organized by Krem Radio. It is to be held on 1st January, 2013. The Open race will start at the Santa Elena Border at 9:00 a.m. The Woman and Junior will start in front of the Town Hall in Orange Walk Town at 9:30 and 9:35 a.m. respectively.


The event is open to athletes of the (male and woman) Categories.


This event is open to minimum of 4 and maximum of 10 riders’ per each team.


Team representatives are requested to submit their Titular List of Starters by Wednesday, December 19th sent to email kremcyclingclassic@gmail.com and reconfirm their starters at the Technical Meeting which will be held on Thursday, December 27th 2012 at the Krem compound starting at 11:00 a.m. Race numbers and other paraphernalia will also be issued at that time.

Race Headquarters on the arrival site shall be open at 7 a.m. and located at the Mile 92, Corozal Free Zone, for the Male Open and Orange Walk Town Hall at 7:30 a.m. for the Women and Junior Male.


Race information will be broadcast via hand held Radios for all events.


The technical support service will be handled by a team of officials. The neutral support will be taken care of by means of pickup trucks providing spear wheels and water for refreshment.


Any rider finishing in a time exceeding that of the winner by more than 30 minutes shall not be placed.

All Junior and or Youth riders concerned shall, in accordance with their placing and classifications shall present themselves with their bicycles immediately after crossing the finishing line (at the finished Line) in an effort to conduct their bike gearing verification.


The following prizes are awarded:

1st Prize$500.00 + $250.00 & Trophy

1st Prize $2,000.00 + $250.00 & Trophy + 1 Bull
2nd Prize $1,500.00 & Trophy
3rd Prize $1,000.00 & Trophy
4th Prize $500.00
5th Prize $350.00
6th Prize $275.00
7th Prize $200.00
8th Prize $175.00
9th Prize $150.00
10th Prize $100.00
11th Prize $75.00
12th Prize $75.00
13th Prize $50.00
14th Prize $50.00
15th Prize $50.00
16th Prize $25.00
17th Prize $25.00
18th Prize $25.00
19th Prize $25.00
20th Prize $25.00
1st Prize $500.00 + $250.00 & Trophy
2nd Prize $300.00 & Trophy
3rd Prize $200.00 & Trophy
2nd Prize $300.00 & Trophy
3rd Prize $200.00 & Trophy

A grand total of $9,425.00 will be awarded in prize money at the event.


All riders concerned shall, in accordance with their placing, classifications and performances, participate in official ceremonies such as the presentation of jerseys, bouquets or medals, laps of honor, Press conference and the like. Unless otherwise stated, riders shall appear at official ceremonies wearing competition clothing.

The following riders must attend the official awards ceremony:

  •  The first 3 of each category
    • Men Over all Classification
    • Men Juniors
    • Women Over All
  •  The winners of the station prizes.

The riders will present themselves at the podium in a time limit of maximum 45 minutes after crossing the finish line.

About KREM
The idea for the KREM Radio station originated in early 1979 while Rufus X and I were visiting New Orleans. There was a New Orleans deejay I liked, by the name of Sister Love, and one day Rufus and his cousin, Sam Wiley, who was our host, showed me the building where the radio station which featured Sister Love was located. It was quite a modest, one flat structure, much smaller than the three story Albert Cattouse Building from where the Belize government monopoly station – Radio Belize – was broadcasting.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Live Chat Software